The Incubator for Documentary Filmmakers

The Intellectual Incubator for Documentary Filmmakers at the Van Leer Jerusalem Institute, formed in conjunction with the Israeli Documentary Filmmakers Forum and the Jerusalem Cinematheque, is a platform for thinking through and critiquing the intellectual, social, and cultural contexts in which documentary films are conceived, produced and received. It is also a place for filmmakers and researchers to collaborate, lending filmmaking in Israel greater intellectual depth and creative energy while bringing new questions and approaches to research.

In 2021 the Intellectual Incubator focused on documentary projects related to Israel and its neighbors, emphasizing the political, cultural, social, and economic bonds that link Israel and its population to other states and peoples in the Middle East, as well as Israeli-Palestinian relations in Israel and in the Occupied Territories.

The incubator offers filmmakers an opportunity to engage with academic researchers working on areas that relate to their projects, while developing the thoughts that underlie their cinematic endeavors. This initiative is part of a wider decision of the Van Leer Institute, with the support of the Polonsky Foundation, to engage with artists and the arts to advance – from within ongoing exchanges between scholars and artists – the development and dissemination of ideas for social change.

Filmmakers Incubator, 2021
Filmmakers Incubator, 2021

Leadership Team: Ronna Brayer-Garb, Liran Atzmor, Dr. Tsameret Levy-Daphny, Academic management – Dr. Assaf David

Incubator Participants, 2021: Michal Aviad, Maya de Vries, Danel Elpeleg, Shadi Habib Allah, Raz Hazon, Ihab Jadallah, Ezry Keydar, Ronnie Manor, Tal Michael, David Ofek, Dudi Patimer, Yael Perlov, Ofer Pinchasov, Yoav Roeh, Anna Somershaf, Osnat Trabelsi, Tamar Yarom, Bilal Yousef

Incubator Participants, 2020: Adi Adwan, Shuki Ben Naim, Arik Bernstein, Rachel Elitzur, Anat Even, Rachel Lea Jones, Eliav Lilti, Stav Meron, Ido Mizrahy, Nir Sa'ar, Yochai Shalom Hadad, Avigail Sperber, Ran Tal, Astar Vander, Zohar Wagner

Incubator Participants, 2019: Yuval Abraham, Rafael Balulu, Ayelet Bechar, Yaniv Berman, Netalie Braun, Lev Brodinski, Amichai Chasson, Tony Copti, Danae Elon, Yotam Feldman, Neomi-Nur Zahor, Ron Ofer, Yael Perlov, Yair Qedar, Iris Rubin, Dafna Shalom, Rachel Szor, Adi Toledano, Doron Tsabari

Join our mailing list